Buyer's guide

Best booking platforms for tattoo studios in 2026

Tattoogenda, Porter, Booksy, Fresha, Square Appointments, Timely and Believe Websites compared for UK tattoo studios, on published prices, deposits and consent forms, what a marketplace takes from a £300 first session, and who gives you a website of your own.

·11 min read

An artist in black nitrile gloves working a tattoo pen along a client's eyebrow

The short answer

  • Tattoogenda, built for tattoo and piercing studios, costs €45 a month on Expert or €89 on Ultimate, with unlimited users, plus €0.11 per SMS.
  • Porter, built for tattoo artists and studios, costs US$35 or US$65 a month per independent artist, or US$250 a month for a whole studio with unlimited artists; its pricing page is in US dollars only.
  • Booksy costs £40 a month plus £5 for each additional team member, plus VAT, and takes 30% of a new client's first visit, minimum £5, only when its Boost feature is switched on.
  • Fresha costs £14.95 a month for one person or £9.95 per bookable team member, excluding VAT, and takes 20% of a new marketplace client's first visit, which is £60 on a £300 first session.
  • Square Appointments is free for a single location, £29 a month on Plus and £69 on Premium, with no limit on staff calendars; a booking website on your own domain needs Square Online Plus at £20 a month, billed annually.
  • Timely starts from £4, £7 or £9 a week with unlimited team members, and the bill adjusts with the bookings you take.
  • Tattoogenda, Porter, Fresha, Square and Timely list card deposits or prepayments on their pricing pages, and Booksy lists no-show protection with its payments; Believe Websites' card payments are built but not switched on, so it cannot take a deposit yet.
  • Believe Websites costs £49 a month flat for any number of artists, takes 0% commission, and designs and builds a bespoke website on your own domain for £0 upfront.

Tattoo studios do not book like salons. A piece starts as a conversation and a reference image, becomes a consultation and a design, and only then turns into one or more long sessions. Deposits are normal and they matter, because a no-show on a five-hour session is a lost day. Consent forms are a legal necessity, not a nice extra. Guest artists come and go. And people choose an artist by looking at their work, which lives on a portfolio, not on a price list.

This guide compares seven options on what decides it for a studio: what you pay each month for four artists, whether it takes deposits and handles consent, what a marketplace takes from a first session, and whether you end up with a website of your own. Every figure was read from each company's own website on 27 October 2026.

The quick answer

  • Software built for tattoo studios, priced in euros, whole team included: Tattoogenda, €45 a month on Expert.
  • Software built for tattoo studios in the US: Porter, US$250 a month for a studio, or US$35 to US$65 per independent artist.
  • A big consumer marketplace: Fresha at £9.95 per artist, or Booksy at £40 plus £5 per extra artist, both plus VAT, with commission on some new clients.
  • Paying nothing for the booking system: Square Appointments Free, for a single location.
  • Unlimited artists with texts included: Timely, from £4 a week.
  • A studio that wants its own website, built for it, and to keep every penny of every booking: Believe Websites, £49 a month flat for any number of artists.

The price, side by side

Published pricing, read 27 October 2026

Booksy and Fresha quote prices excluding VAT. Tattoogenda, Porter, Square and Timely do not state VAT treatment on their pricing pages. Tattoogenda prices in euros and Porter in US dollars; we have not converted them. Prices change; check each source before you decide.

PlatformPublished priceExtra artistsNew-client commissionWebsite on your own domain
Believe Websites£49 a month flatbuild is £0Unlimited, free0%Yes, built for you
Tattoogenda€45 or €89 a monthor €495 / €979 a year, + €0.11 per SMSUnlimited usersNone statedNobooking links and plugins for your own site
PorterUS$250 a month per studioor US$35 / US$65 per artistUnlimited on Studio ProNone statedCustom shop website on Studio Proown domain not stated
Booksy£40 a monthplus VAT£5 each30% of first visit with Boost on£5 minimum, plus VATNo, a Booksy profile
Fresha£14.95 solo, or £9.95 per team membera month, excluding VAT£9.95 each20% of first visitmarketplace clients, £4 minimumSmart Website add-on£12.95 a month; own domain not stated
Square Appointments£0 / £29 / £69 a monthper locationUnlimited calendarsNone statedWith Square Online Plus£20 a month, billed annually
TimelyFrom £4 / £7 / £9 a weekadjusts with bookings takenUnlimited, freeNo new client feesFree mini-websiteown domain not stated

Two of these are built only for tattooing. Tattoogenda prices in euros: Expert at €45 a month covers the calendar for resident and guest artists, tattoo project management, deposits collected and chased automatically, consent forms, reminders and aftercare messages; Ultimate at €89 adds one inbox for email, Instagram, WhatsApp and Facebook. Porter prices in US dollars, and its studio plan lists sales-tax collection and 1099s for artists, both American; its pricing page does not say whether it serves UK studios, so ask before you book a demo.

What a four-artist studio pays each month

Booking software for four artists, per month, at published sterling prices
Square Appointments Free£0

one location; no own-domain site

Timely Runfrom £17.33

£4 a week; rises with bookings

Square Appointments Plus£29

per location

Fresha Team£39.80

4 × £9.95, plus VAT

Believe Websites£49

bespoke site on your own domain, built and changed for you

Square Plus + Online Plus£49

£29 + £20 billed annually, for your own domain

Booksy£55

£40 + 3 × £5, plus VAT

Prices read on 27 October 2026. Tattoogenda (€45 or €89 a month) and Porter (US$250 a month for a studio) do not publish sterling prices, so they are left off the chart rather than converted. Timely's figure is its weekly starting price × 52 ÷ 12. Card fees, SMS and website add-ons are not included unless stated.

For a tattoo studio these two decide more than the subscription does. Here is what each pricing page says.

Deposits and consent, as listed on each pricing page, 27 October 2026
PlatformDepositsConsent and forms
Believe WebsitesNot yetcard payments built, not switched onNo
TattoogendaYes, collected and chased automaticallyStripe or MollieConsent forms and Ink Passports
PorterYes, deposits and paymentsAutomated waivers and consent formsArtist Pro and Studio Pro
BooksyNo-show protection1.29% + 20p + VAT per mobile paymentCustom forms included
FreshaUpfront deposits1.40% + £0.25 onlineConsultation forms
Square AppointmentsPrepayments on every plan1.4% + 25p online for UK cardsContracts sent automatically on booking
TimelyOnline deposits on every plan1.85% + 30pConsult app; forms before appointments on Boost

What a marketplace takes from a first session

Tattoo sessions are long and expensive, which is exactly where percentage commission hurts. Fresha takes 20% of a new marketplace client's first visit, with a £4 minimum, plus VAT; returning clients are free. Booksy takes 30% of a new client's first visit, minimum £5, plus VAT, but only if you switch Boost on; otherwise its marketplace bookings are free. Timely says no new client fees. Tattoogenda, Porter and Square list no commission. We take 0% on every booking.

Commission on a new client's £300 first session

Fresha's and Booksy's rates exclude VAT. Booksy charges only while Boost is switched on, and only for clients who first book through it.

PlatformCommissionOn a £300 session
Believe Websites0%£0
TimelyNo new client fees£0
Fresha20%, £4 minimum£60 + VAT
Booksy, Boost on30%, £5 minimum£90 + VAT
A gloved artist holding a fine tattoo pen above a client's freshly mapped eyebrow

Your website, your portfolio, and being found

People pick a tattoo artist by their work and by what they read about the studio: styles, artists, aftercare, how booking and deposits work, where you are. A lot of that lives on Instagram, which is fine for browsing and poor for answering questions. More people now also ask ChatGPT, Gemini or Google's AI overview which studio to go to for fine line or blackwork in their town, and those systems answer from what they can read on the open web.

Of the seven, Porter lists a custom shop website on its studio plan, Fresha sells a Smart Website for £12.95 a month, Square includes a booking site and connects your own domain on Online Plus, and Timely includes a mini-website. Tattoogenda gives you booking links and plugins to put on a site you already have, and Booksy gives you a profile. We design and build a bespoke website on your own domain, with a page for each artist and style, structured data, clear business details and a new article each month about your town and your work, and your dashboard shows an AI Search Readiness score. The full offer is on our home page.

Where we lose

  • No deposits yet. Card payments are built but not switched on. Every other platform here takes card payments today.
  • No consent forms or tattoo project tools. Tattoogenda and Porter are built around the tattoo workflow, from first message to aftercare. We are a website with booking.
  • No text reminders yet. Confirmations and reminders go by email today. Timely includes texts, Booksy's reminders are free, and Tattoogenda sends SMS at €0.11 each.
  • No marketplace. Fresha and Booksy list you where people browse. We do not send you strangers.
  • A 12-month minimum term. Booksy, Fresha and Timely all say there is no long-term commitment. Ours is 12 months because we build the site for nothing up front, then it goes month to month.
  • Not the cheapest. Square Free costs nothing and Timely starts from £4 a week.

So which one should you pick?

  • A studio that wants the whole tattoo workflow in one place, deposits to aftercare: Tattoogenda, and check what VAT and the euro price come to.
  • A studio in the US, or one happy to buy American software: Porter.
  • A studio that wants marketplace bookings: Fresha or Booksy, with the commission on a long first session factored in.
  • A studio watching every pound: Square Appointments Free, or Timely from £4 a week.
  • A studio that wants its own website built and kept up to date for it, with nothing taken from any booking: Believe Websites, £49 a month flat, alongside a deposit and consent tool until our card payments are switched on.

For a closer look at one of these, read Believe Websites vs Timely, Believe Websites vs Square Appointments or Believe Websites vs Booksy. Running a barbershop as well? See the best booking platforms for barbers.

Common questions

What is the best booking system for a tattoo studio in the UK?
It depends on what you need most. Tattoogenda is built for tattoo studios, with deposits, consent forms and project management, at €45 a month. Fresha and Booksy add a consumer marketplace. Square Appointments has a free plan and Timely starts from £4 a week. Believe Websites builds a bespoke studio website on your own domain with booking inside it, for £49 a month flat and 0% commission, but cannot take deposits yet.
How much does Tattoogenda cost?
Tattoogenda's pricing page, read on 27 October 2026, lists Expert at €45 a month or €495 a year and Ultimate at €89 a month or €979 a year, each with unlimited users, plus €0.11 per SMS. Both have a 14-day free trial with no card needed. The page does not state whether prices include VAT.
Is Porter available for UK tattoo studios?
Porter's pricing page, read on 27 October 2026, shows prices in US dollars only: US$35 or US$65 a month per independent artist and US$250 a month for a studio. Its studio plan lists sales-tax collection and 1099s, both American. The page does not say whether it serves UK studios, so ask Porter directly.
Which tattoo booking apps take deposits?
Tattoogenda, Porter, Fresha, Square Appointments and Timely list card deposits or prepayments on their pricing pages, read on 27 October 2026, and Booksy lists no-show protection features with its integrated payments. Believe Websites' card payments are built but not switched on, so it cannot take a deposit yet.
Does Fresha take commission from tattoo artists?
Only on new clients who find you through the Fresha marketplace: 20% of their first visit, with a £4 minimum, excluding VAT. On a £300 first session that is £60 plus VAT. Returning clients are free. Booksy takes 30% of a new client's first visit, minimum £5, plus VAT, only while Boost is switched on. Believe Websites takes 0% on every booking.
Do tattoo studios need a website if they have Instagram?
Instagram is good for showing work and poor at answering questions such as styles, prices, deposits, aftercare and where you are. Search engines and AI assistants answer from what they can read on the open web, and a clear website on your own domain gives them that. Believe Websites builds one for £0 upfront as part of £49 a month; it does not guarantee any ranking or recommendation.

Sources

Competitors' prices change. Every figure here was read from the company's own public pricing page on the date shown. If something is out of date, tell us and we will correct it.

Copyright © BelieveWebsites.com 2026 (BelieveX Ltd)

Company Number: 13225381

This website is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by, or otherwise associated with Meta Platforms, Inc., Facebook, Instagram, or any of their subsidiaries or affiliates. All trademarks and registered trademarks are the property of their respective owners.