Buyer's guide

Best booking platforms for personal trainers in 2026

Square Appointments, Acuity, Fresha, Mindbody, TeamUp, Trainerize, PT Distinction and Believe Websites compared for UK personal trainers, on published prices for a solo trainer and a studio of three, how each one charges (per trainer, per client or per location), what a marketplace takes from a £40 first session, and who gives you a website of your own.

·11 min read

A personal trainer in a grey T-shirt writing on a clipboard while his client sits beside him on a plyo box in a gym

The short answer

  • Square Appointments is free for a single location with no limit on staff calendars and includes text and email reminders; Plus, at £29 a month per location, adds class booking, waitlists and cancellation fees.
  • Acuity Scheduling by Squarespace costs £12 a month for 1 bookable calendar, £22 for up to 6 and £40 for up to 36 when paid monthly, or £11, £20 and £37 paid annually; text reminders start on the £22 plan.
  • Fresha costs £14.95 a month for one person or £9.95 per bookable team member, excluding 20% VAT, and takes 20% of a new marketplace client's first booking, minimum £4, which is £8 on a £40 session.
  • Mindbody's UK pricing page says plans start at £89 a month per location with unlimited users and a listing on the Mindbody app, and asks you to talk to sales for each plan's price.
  • TeamUp charges by active customers, not trainers: £99 a month for up to 100 and £139 for 101 to 200, month to month with no setup fee.
  • Trainerize and PT Distinction are coaching apps priced in US dollars by number of clients: Trainerize from $10 a month for 2 clients, PT Distinction from $19.90 a month for 3 clients, with unlimited trainers free on PT Distinction.
  • Believe Websites costs £49 a month flat for any number of trainers, takes 0% commission, and designs and builds a bespoke website on your own domain for £0 upfront; its text reminders and card payments are built but not switched on, and it has no workout programming or client app.

Personal training books differently from a salon. Sessions are usually the same length, sold in blocks or packages, and repeated weekly with the same client. Some trainers work alone across a gym floor and a park; others run a small studio with two or three coaches and a few group classes. Many also coach clients online, between sessions, through an app. And new clients mostly find a trainer by searching their town and reading the reviews.

This guide compares eight options on what decides it for a trainer: what you pay each month on your own and with three trainers, what the price is counted on (trainers, clients, active customers or locations), what a marketplace takes from a first session, and whether you end up with a website of your own. Every figure was read from each company's own pricing page on 30 October 2026.

The quick answer

  • Paying nothing for 1-to-1 booking, with text reminders: Square Appointments Free, for a single location, any number of trainers.
  • A simple booking page to embed in a site you already have: Acuity Scheduling, from £12 a month for one calendar.
  • Group classes, memberships and a gym-style member app: TeamUp from £99 a month, or Mindbody from £89 a month per location.
  • Coaching clients online with programmes and nutrition: Trainerize or PT Distinction, both priced in dollars by the number of clients you coach.
  • A big consumer marketplace: Fresha, at £14.95 solo or £9.95 per trainer plus VAT, with commission on new marketplace clients.
  • A trainer who wants their own website, built for them, and to keep every penny of every booking: Believe Websites, £49 a month flat for any number of trainers.

The price, side by side

Published prices, as read on 30 October 2026

Trainerize and PT Distinction price in US dollars only; Trainerize says its prices are subject to applicable taxes. TeamUp, Mindbody and Acuity show pounds but do not say whether VAT is included. Square's page does not mention VAT. Monthly-billing prices are shown where a page offers both.

Monthly priceWhat the price countsVATContract
Believe Websites£49 flatwebsite built for you, £0Nothingunlimited trainers—12 months, then monthly
Square Appointments£0 Free / £29 Plus / £69 PremiumPer locationno staff limitNot statedNot stated
Acuity Scheduling£12 / £22 / £40£11 / £20 / £37 paid annuallyBookable calendars1, up to 6, up to 36Not statedMonthly or annual
Fresha£14.95 solo£9.95 per team memberPer bookable team memberExcluded (20%)None
MindbodyFrom £89plan prices by sales callPer locationunlimited usersNot statedNot stated
TeamUp£99 up to 100 customers£139 for 101 to 200Active customers a monthNot statedNone, month to month
Trainerize$10 for 2 clientsPro $25 for 5 up to $135 for 50Clients coachedPlus applicable taxesMonthly or annual
PT Distinction$19.90 for 3 clients$59.90 for 25, $89.90 for 50Clients coachedunlimited trainers freeNot statedNone

The pricing models are the real difference here. Fresha and Acuity count the trainers taking bookings. Square and Mindbody count locations. TeamUp counts the customers who booked or bought something that month. Trainerize and PT Distinction count the clients you coach. We count nothing: £49 whatever the size of the team.

What it costs: one trainer, and a studio of three

Monthly subscription for a studio with three trainers, paid monthly
Square Appointments Free£0

single location, no staff limit

Acuity Standard£22

up to 6 calendars, VAT not stated

Fresha Team£29.85

3 × £9.95, plus VAT

Believe Websites£49

website built for you, unlimited team

Mindbodyfrom £89

per location, VAT not stated

TeamUp£99

up to 100 active customers

Trainerize and PT Distinction are left out because they price in dollars and by clients rather than trainers. On your own, the same options cost £0 on Square, £12 on Acuity Starter, £14.95 plus VAT on Fresha, £49 with us, and from £89 on Mindbody; TeamUp stays £99 up to 100 active customers.

On subscription alone we are not the cheapest. Square is free and sends text reminders, and Acuity and Fresha cost less than £49 for most small teams. Those prices are the booking system only: they do not include a website designed and built for you, which is what the £49 is mostly for.

Classes, packages and coaching between sessions

What each pricing page lists for the way trainers sell

Only what each company's pricing page lists. A blank or "not listed" means the page did not mention it, not that the product cannot do it.

Group classesPackages or membershipsText remindersProgrammes and client app
Believe WebsitesNoNoComing soonNo
Square AppointmentsPlus and PremiumNot listedAll plansNo
Acuity SchedulingAll plansFrom StandardFrom StandardNo
FreshaGroup bookingsYes20 free a monththen £0.06 a textNo
MindbodyYesYesSMS marketing on UltimateBranded app as an add-on
TeamUpYesbuilt for group fitnessNot listedNot listedBranded app as an add-on
TrainerizeClasses listedSession packsNot listedYes
PT DistinctionGroup trainingPackagesScheduled SMSYes

Trainerize puts its premium scheduling, such as shareable booking links, in a Business add-on at $25 a month, and Stripe payments in another at $10 a month. PT Distinction says every feature is included in every plan and lists "Integrate into your website", but does not name an appointment calendar on its pricing page. Both are first of all coaching apps: programmes, nutrition, habits and messaging between sessions.

What a marketplace takes from a first session

Two of the eight list a consumer marketplace on their pricing pages. Fresha's marketplace takes a one-off fee on a brand-new client who finds you there; returning clients and clients from your own links are free. Mindbody lists the Mindbody app, which it says has 3M+ monthly shoppers, on every plan, but its pricing page does not say whether a booking from the app costs a fee.

Fee on a £40 first session from a new marketplace client
Fresha£8

20% one-time, minimum £4, plus VAT

Mindbody appNot published

not stated on the pricing page

Believe Websites£0

0% on every booking; no marketplace

£40 is an illustrative session price. Square, Acuity, TeamUp, Trainerize and PT Distinction list no marketplace commission on their pricing pages.

Your own website

  • Square includes a Square Online booking website on every plan, and a booking widget for a site you already have.
  • Acuity embeds in your existing website; the "Powered by Acuity" label comes off only on Premium. It is sold by Squarespace, whose own website plans start at £14.40 a month paid annually; we compared the two in Believe Websites vs Squarespace.
  • Fresha sells a Smart Website for £12.95 a month on top of the subscription.
  • Mindbody lists a Customized Website on every plan, described as "Zero DIY".
  • Trainerize includes a Trainerize.me website profile from its Grow plan. TeamUp and PT Distinction plug into a website you already have.
  • Believe Websites designs and builds a bespoke website for you, on your own domain, with booking built in, and changes it when you message us. That, and the monthly article about your town and services, is what the £49 is for.

Where we lose

  • No coaching tools. We have no workout programmes, nutrition tracking or client app. If you coach online, Trainerize or PT Distinction does a job we do not.
  • No classes, packages or memberships. Square Plus, Acuity, Fresha, Mindbody and TeamUp all handle group sessions; we book individual appointments.
  • Text reminders and card payments are built but not switched on. We send email confirmations and reminders, and cannot take a deposit or sell a block of sessions online yet.
  • No marketplace. We do not send you people browsing for a trainer. Fresha and Mindbody can.
  • A 12-month minimum term. Fresha, TeamUp and PT Distinction say there is no contract. Ours is 12 months because the website is built for £0 upfront, then month to month.
  • We cost more than the booking-only options. Square is free and Acuity starts at £12.

So which one should you pick?

  • You train 1-to-1 and want free booking with texts: Square Appointments Free.
  • You already have a website and just need a booking page in it: Acuity Starter, or Standard for texts and packages.
  • You run classes and memberships from a studio: TeamUp or Mindbody.
  • Most of your coaching happens in an app between sessions: Trainerize or PT Distinction, and pair it with a booking system.
  • You want new clients from a marketplace and accept the fee: Fresha.
  • You want a proper website of your own, built and kept up to date for you, one flat price for the whole team and 0% commission: Believe Websites.

Comparing for a different kind of business? See the best booking platforms for massage therapists, which covers intake forms and Jane, or Believe Websites vs Square Appointments for the free option in more depth.

Common questions

What is the best booking app for a personal trainer in the UK?
It depends on how you work. Square Appointments is free for 1-to-1 booking at a single location and sends text reminders. Acuity suits a trainer who already has a website. TeamUp and Mindbody suit studios running classes and memberships. Trainerize and PT Distinction suit online coaching. Believe Websites suits a trainer who wants a website built for them with booking inside, at £49 a month flat with 0% commission.
Is there a free booking system for personal trainers?
Square Appointments has a Free plan for a single location with no limit on staff calendars, including text and email reminders; it charges 1.75% on in-person card payments on that plan. Trainerize has a free plan for 1 client. PT Distinction offers a 1-month free trial, and Fresha a 7-day trial.
How much does Mindbody cost in the UK?
On 30 October 2026 Mindbody's pricing page said plans start at £89 GBP a month per location, with unlimited users. Its three plans, Starter, Accelerate and Ultimate, each say "Let's talk" rather than showing a price, and the page does not say whether VAT is included.
How does TeamUp charge?
By active customers, meaning people who booked or bought something that month: £99 a month for up to 100 and £139 for 101 to 200 on 30 October 2026. TeamUp says there is no setup fee and no contract, and the price adjusts if your active customers go down.
Do Fresha and Mindbody take commission on personal training bookings?
Fresha takes a one-time 20% fee on a brand-new client who finds you through its marketplace, minimum £4, which is £8 on a £40 session; returning clients and your own links are free. Mindbody's pricing page lists a listing on the Mindbody app on every plan but does not say whether bookings from it carry a fee. Believe Websites takes 0% on every booking.
Can I take payment for blocks of sessions with Believe Websites?
Not yet. Believe Websites' card payments are built but not switched on, so it cannot take deposits or sell packages online today, and its text reminders are not switched on either; it sends email confirmations and reminders. Square, Acuity, Fresha, Mindbody, Trainerize and PT Distinction all take payments.

Sources

Competitors' prices change. Every figure here was read from the company's own public pricing page on the date shown. If something is out of date, tell us and we will correct it.

Copyright © BelieveWebsites.com 2026 (BelieveX Ltd)

Company Number: 13225381

This website is not affiliated with, endorsed by, sponsored by, or otherwise associated with Meta Platforms, Inc., Facebook, Instagram, or any of their subsidiaries or affiliates. All trademarks and registered trademarks are the property of their respective owners.