Comparison
Believe Websites vs Treatwell: a marketplace listing, or a website of your own?
Treatwell publishes no monthly price and takes 35% of a new marketplace client's first booking, plus VAT. Believe Websites is £49 a month flat, 0% commission, with a bespoke website built for you on your own domain.
·9 min read

The short answer
- Treatwell does not publish a monthly price. Its UK pricing page lists Freelancer and Advanced plans with "Start for free" buttons and no figures.
- Treatwell charges 35% commission on first bookings made by new clients it brings you from its marketplace, and 0% on repeat bookings.
- Treatwell states that all its commissions and fees are subject to VAT, so a business that cannot reclaim VAT pays 42% of that first booking.
- Bookings that come to you directly, by phone, message or your own Book Now button, carry no Treatwell commission.
- Believe Websites costs £49 a month flat for any team size, takes 0% commission on every booking, and designs and builds a bespoke website on your own domain for £0 upfront.
- Treatwell has a large consumer marketplace that can send you new clients. Believe Websites has no marketplace and sends nobody.
- Believe Websites has a 12-month minimum term, then month to month. Treatwell's pricing page does not state a minimum term.
Treatwell is the name a lot of UK clients know when they book a haircut, a facial or a wax online. It is a marketplace first: an app and a website where people browse salons near them and book. The salon software comes with being listed there.
That makes it a different kind of product from ours, and the honest comparison is not really about the calendar. It is about where your new clients come from, and what each one costs you. Every Treatwell figure below was read from its own UK pricing page on 24 October 2026.
The short version
Treatwell does not publish a monthly price. It does publish its commission: 35% on first bookings from new clients it brings you through the marketplace, nothing on repeat bookings, and a 2.5% + VAT fee on online prepayments. All of its commissions and fees are subject to VAT.
Believe Websites is £49 a month flat, whatever the size of your team, with a bespoke website designed and built for £0 upfront on your own domain. It takes 0% of every booking, from anyone. What it does not have is a marketplace full of people browsing for a salon.
What Treatwell's pricing page actually says
Treatwell's pricing page shows no monthly figure for either plan, only "Start for free". Its FAQ refers to "your monthly fee" without giving an amount. All commissions and fees are subject to VAT.
| Freelancer | Advanced | |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly price | Not published | Not published |
| Team members | Not stated | Unlimited, at no extra cost |
| New marketplace client | 35% of first bookingsubject to location | 35% of first bookingsubject to location |
| Repeat bookings | 0% | 0% |
| Online prepayments | 2.5% + VAT | 2.5% + VAT |
| Email notifications and reminders | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| Text reminders | Not mentioned | Not mentioned |
| Website on your own domain | Novenue profile on the marketplace | Novenue profile on the marketplace |
A missing price is a finding in itself. You cannot compare Treatwell's monthly bill with anyone else's from the outside; you find out what it is once you have signed up or spoken to them. If the monthly fee matters to your decision, ask for it in writing before you move your diary over.
What a new client costs on Treatwell
The 35% applies once, to the first booking of a client Treatwell introduces through its marketplace. After that, that client's repeat bookings are commission-free. Clients who book you directly — by phone, text, WhatsApp, a client you add yourself, or the Book Now button on your own social media or website — carry no commission either.
Worked examples using Treatwell's published 35% rate, read on 24 October 2026. The service prices are illustrations, not quotes. Treatwell states its commissions are subject to VAT; the last column adds VAT at 20%, which is what a business that is not VAT-registered cannot reclaim.
| First booking | Believe Websites | Treatwell (35%) | Treatwell, with VAT |
|---|---|---|---|
| £25 men's cut | £0 | £8.75 | £10.50 |
| £45 cut and blow-dry | £0 | £15.75 | £18.90 |
| £90 colour | £0 | £31.50 | £37.80 |
For some salons that is a fair price for a client who then comes back every six weeks for years. For others, especially those whose first-time clients rarely return, it is a lot to pay for a single visit. The point is to know the number before the marketplace starts sending people.
£49 × 12, all in. No commission, no build cost, website included.
5 × £15.75 × 12, plus VAT, plus the unpublished monthly fee.
10 × £15.75 × 12, plus VAT, plus the unpublished monthly fee.
A worked example, not a quote: it assumes a £45 first booking and counts commission only, because Treatwell does not publish its monthly fee. The two Treatwell bars are what those new clients cost, not what the software costs.
A venue profile, or a website of your own

Treatwell's plans include your unique venue profile on the Treatwell marketplace, a team portfolio published there, and booking buttons for Facebook, Instagram and Google. That profile sits on Treatwell's site, next to the other salons in your area, and it is Treatwell's page.
What we build instead is a website designed around your business — your photos, your services and prices, your reviews, your area — on your own domain, something like www.yoursalon.co.uk, with the booking system built in. We design it, host it and change it when you message us. When someone searches for your name, it is your site they land on, not a listing beside your competitors.
- Your own domain, not a profile on a marketplace.
- Built for you. You tell us about the business; the site is designed around it.
- Changes done for you. New prices, new hours, a new stylist — message us, it is included.
- A new article every month about your town and your services, written to be read by search engines and AI assistants.
- Yours at the end. After the 12-month minimum term you can take ownership of the website.
One thing worth knowing from Treatwell's own FAQ: it says it does not sync with other management systems, because it acts as your exclusive partner. It also says your data remains yours, even if you cancel.
Being found when people ask an AI
More people now ask ChatGPT, Gemini or Google's AI overview something like "good balayage salon near me" and act on the answer. Those systems answer from what they can read on the open web: clear pages about your services, where you are, what you charge, and real reviews.
Every site we build is set up for that: structured data, individual service pages, clear business information and a monthly article, with an AI Search Readiness score in your dashboard so you can see what is in place. The whole offer is on our home page.
Where Treatwell genuinely wins
- A real marketplace. Treatwell says it partners with over 150,000 salons across Europe, and UK clients use it to find somewhere new. We have no marketplace and will not send you anyone browsing.
- You only pay commission when it works. The 35% is charged only when the marketplace actually brings you a new client, and never on that client's repeat visits.
- Payments work today. Online prepayments, a point of sale for checkout and daily payouts are in both plans. Our card payments are built but not switched on yet.
- No minimum term on the pricing page. We ask for 12 months, because we build the site for nothing up front.
- They move your data for you. Treatwell's team imports basic client data and technical notes from your old system.
Text reminders are a gap for us too: ours are built but not switched on, so today we send confirmations and reminders by email. Treatwell's pricing page lists unlimited email notifications and reminders and does not mention text reminders, so check with them if texts matter to you.
Everything side by side
| Believe Websites | Treatwell | |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly price | £49 flatany team size | Not published |
| Cost to build a website | £0designed and built for you | No website offeredmarketplace venue profile |
| Your own domain | Yeswe buy and connect it for you | Not on the pricing page |
| Changes after launch | Message us, we do itunlimited small changes, fair use | You edit your profile |
| Team members | Unlimited, free | Unlimited on Advanced |
| Commission | 0%on every booking | 35% of a new marketplace client's first bookingplus VAT; 0% on repeats |
| Email confirmations and reminders | Yes | Unlimited |
| Text reminders | Coming soon | Not mentioned |
| Card payments | Coming soon | Yes2.5% + VAT on online prepayments |
| Analytics and a monthly report | Yes | Detailed sales reports |
| Monthly SEO and AI article | Yesabout your town and services | No |
| Marketplace of browsing clients | No | Yeson commission |
| Minimum term | 12 monthsthen month to month | Not statedon the pricing page |
So which one should you pick?
Treatwell, if
- You are new, your diary is empty, and you want a marketplace sending you people this month.
- You are comfortable paying 35% plus VAT on a new client's first booking in exchange for that client.
- You need card prepayments and a point of sale working today.
- You do not want a minimum term.
Believe Websites, if
- You already have regulars and mostly need new clients to find you, not a list of salons.
- You want a real website on your own domain, built and kept up to date for you.
- You want to know your monthly bill before you sign up: £49, any team size.
- You would rather keep 100% of every booking, including the first one.
Comparing the other big apps too? We have done Believe Websites vs Fresha and Believe Websites vs Booksy the same way, and put the barber options side by side in the best booking platforms for barbers.
Common questions
- How much does Treatwell cost per month in the UK?
- Treatwell does not publish a monthly price. Its UK pricing page lists two plans, Freelancer and Advanced, with "Start for free" buttons and no figures, and its FAQ refers to a monthly fee without stating it. It does publish a 35% commission on new marketplace clients' first bookings and a 2.5% + VAT fee on online prepayments.
- What commission does Treatwell take?
- Treatwell's pricing page says it charges 35% commission on first bookings made by new clients it brings you from the marketplace, subject to location, and 0% on repeat bookings. All its commissions and fees are subject to VAT. Bookings made directly with you, or through your own Book Now button, carry no commission.
- Is Believe Websites cheaper than Treatwell?
- It cannot be compared on subscription alone, because Treatwell does not publish its monthly fee. On commission, Believe Websites takes 0% and Treatwell takes 35% plus VAT of each new marketplace client's first booking. Believe Websites is £49 a month flat for any team size, with the website included.
- Does Treatwell give you a website?
- Treatwell's plans include a venue profile on the Treatwell marketplace and booking buttons for Facebook, Instagram and Google, not a website on your own domain. Believe Websites designs and builds a bespoke website on your own domain, with the booking system inside it, for £0 upfront and £49 a month.
- Does Believe Websites have a marketplace like Treatwell?
- No. Believe Websites has no marketplace and does not send you clients who are browsing for a salon. It builds your own website, with structured data, service pages and a monthly article, so that people searching for you or your services can find and book you directly.
- Is there a contract with Believe Websites?
- Yes, a 12-month minimum term, because the website is designed and built for £0 upfront rather than billed as a project. After that it continues month to month, and the site can become yours. Treatwell's pricing page does not state a minimum term.
Sources
- Treatwell UK partner pricing — checked 24 October 2026
- Believe Websites pricing and terms — checked 24 October 2026
Competitors' prices change. Every figure here was read from the company's own public pricing page on the date shown. If something is out of date, tell us and we will correct it.
